French Fridays with Dorie: Canèlles

Very excited to kick off my first post for French Fridays.  When I pre-purchased Baking Chez Moi and perused the free preview recipes I was instantly drawn to the canèlles.  Batter that needs to rest and creates a mixture of textures and flavors yet involves simple ingredients is about as French as you can get.

Finished Canneles

The recipe requires a special mold that’s traditionally made out of copper and requires the use of beeswax.  I went for the modern silicone version which was pretty cheap and easy to order online.

I absolutely love that you make the batter ahead of time for this recipe.  So often baking requires perfect timing and this gives  some wiggle room.

This bowls is perfect for storing and then pouring batter.
This bowls is perfect for storing and then pouring batter.

The only downside to making these is the appearance.  The dark brown/black exterior of the unmolded canelles would make you think that they are burnt instead of a carmel crunchy exterior to a chewy and moist sweet treat.  Once I assured my husband that the black exterior was normal he taste tested and loved it.

Checking on the coloration.
Checking on the coloration.
So pretty when the glisten but I found that you don't get the crunchy exterior until these get a matte look to them.
So pretty when the glisten but I found that you don’t get the crunchy exterior until these get a matte look to them.

Overall I think these are quite lovely and a perfect compliment to some very strong tea or coffee.

Finished goods. Great with a strong cup of tea.
Finished goods. Great with a strong cup of tea.
10 thoughts on “French Fridays with Dorie: Canèlles

  1. Welcome to French Fridays ! And what a recipe to start with – lovely no ? I also made the cannelés (for the first time ever) and thought they were both delicious and relatively easy. My favorite combo. Looking forward to baking along with Dorie’s new book ~ Tricia

  2. Welcome aboard! Your canneles look lovely.

    (Does your blog title mean you are from Phoenix? I just flew back from there yesterday – what a beautiful section of the world!)

  3. So glad you are joining French Fridays and cooking and baking with us. Your canneles are beautiful and I know they tasted every bit as good as you said. I made the cookies because I thought the canneles seemes a bit complicated. So many of the Doristas were successful with this recipe (including you) that I’ve got to give them a go.

  4. Welcome (belatedly!) to the French Fridays fold. Your cannelés look perfect – I’m so jealous! Mine burnt, but that was more due to carelessness than because of the recipe. See you next Tuesday for TwD: Baking Chez Moi!

Leave a Reply

