Baking Chez Moi: Palets de Dames, Lille Style

Palets de Dames-Title

Simple ingredients, simple flavors.  I think of these as the basics of French food.

Pantry staples make up the ingredient list.
Pantry staples make up the ingredient list.

Now that I have Baking Chez Moi in my possession I find it does not disappoint. Most recipes call for ingredients I already have in my cupboard or I can easily recognize.  Palets de Dames exists as a prime example of how something as simple as a sugar cookie can feel elevated to a treat.

Creaming the butter.
Creaming the butter.
Always a good idea to crack your eggs into a separate bowl.
Always a good idea to crack your eggs into a separate bowl.
Mixing in the eggs one at a time.
Mixing in the eggs one at a time.
I like to make my own vanilla extract with bourbon.  Adds an extra flavor but I haven't found anything yet that hasn't benefited from a bourbon undertone.
I like to make my own vanilla extract with bourbon. Adds an extra flavor but I haven’t found anything yet that hasn’t benefited from a bourbon undertone.
Texture of the final dough.
Texture of the final dough.
All ready to pop in the fridge.
All ready to pop in the fridge.

The moisture level of the dough is a little surprising.  When you think of cookies, particularly of the plain variety, the dough is usually quite a bit thicker.  This nearly reminded me of mousse.

I used a 2tsp cookie scoop which worked great although a little trickier to use with this soft of a dough.
I used a 2tsp cookie scoop which worked great although a little trickier to use with this soft of a dough.
Cooling down.
Cooling down.
Sifting powdered sugar for the icing.  Don't skip this step-you run the risk of lumps and bumps.
Sifting powdered sugar for the icing. Don’t skip this step-you run the risk of lumps and bumps.
Just a few drops of lemon in the icing.
Just a few drops of lemon in the icing.
Final texture on the icing.
Final texture on the icing.
I couldn't resist adding a little flavor to the icing.  I ended up with plain, rosewater and coconut.
I couldn’t resist adding a little flavor to the icing. I ended up with plain, rosewater and coconut.

The resulting cookie is nearly more like a cake.  Light, sweet and incredibly fragrant. They are perfect to accompany a beverage on the bitter side like a strong tea or coffee.  I experimented with adding a few drops of flavoring to the icing and I wouldn’t hesitate to do it again.  I loved the subtle coconut flavor a drop or two of extract provided and the rosewater added some extra fragrance and subtle flavor.

My husband adored these to the point of immediately attempting to hoard them all for himself.  He ended up sharing a few cookies with his coworkers and with some friends.
My husband adored these to the point of immediately attempting to hoard them all for himself. He ended up sharing a few cookies with his coworkers and with some friends.
Enjoying my tea and cookies.
Enjoying my tea and cookies.

The rest of the book and this baking journey feel far away but just around the corner at the same time.  I can only hope to achieve such enjoyable results with future recipes.

Big thank you to my sweet husband Scott for taking all the wonderful pictures.

Recipes from Baking Chez Moi are not posted although this recipe can be found as a preview.  If you like what you see, please purchase the book. It’s wonderful.

 

14 thoughts on “Baking Chez Moi: Palets de Dames, Lille Style

  1. I like it how you flavour the icing with different flavours to enjoy! I don’t blame your hubby for wanting it all to himself! These cookies are yummy!

  2. So pretty! Makes me feel like a nice hot cuppa right now! BTW I love that botanical print in the background of the last photo…

  3. Your cookies look lovely. In the first picture I thought it was just you sitting there enjoying them with a cuppa and I was going to write, “Next time, call me!!” But then reasoning took over and I realized someone was shooting the photos and sure enough, lucky Scott was sharing the cookies as well. 🙂 Cute photos.

Leave a Reply

