Baking Chez Moi: Marquise au Chocolat

headline marquise

For the first time since beginning the Baking Chez Moi adventure I decided to make a half recipe.  Typically I love to share but I only serve recipes with raw eggs in my own house and I was feeling a bit too under the weather this week to have a dinner.  Marquise is basically a frozen mousse.  The ingredients aren’t complicated and neither is the flavor.

Marquise Ingredients

Chocolate and butter is just melted together and then left to cool.

melting chocolate for marquise

Once the chocolate cools down a bit a mixture of whipped egg yolks and sugar is added in.

Marquise egg separatingWhipped eggs marquiseAdding eggs marquiseMixed eggs marquise

Finally some whip cream is gently folded in.

Whip cream marquiseMixing whip cream marquise

 

The mousse mixture is placed into prepared molds and frozen.  The recipe called for a loaf shaped pan but since Valentine’s Day was coming up and I’d made a half batch I opted for something a little different.  At this stage you can layer in some cookies and I opted to make one of my hearts with a graham cracker crust.

Prepared Tins marquiseMousse in tin marquiseGraham cracker marquiseFinal tins marquise

The final product looks nice and is easy to dress up a bit.

Marquise with berries

While this was really simple to make and the flavor was good it was really just frozen mousse.  That’s not a bad thing I guess but it isn’t necessarily something I will remember to make again.

i love u marquise

Big thanks to my Scott this week.  Doubt I would have gotten this done without his assistance and encouragement.

-Christie

A note on raw eggs: Personally, I’m not super fussy about eating raw eggs.  I accept the risk and I have a few neighbors who come over and it doesn’t bother them at all either.  It does limit the shareability of a dish since I would never serve an item with raw eggs outside of my house. I think it’s funny that the recipe calls for fresh, organic eggs-this has no bearing on whether your eggs will be contaminated with salmonella.  I have my own chickens who are healthy and they are good layers.  My eggs are about as fresh as you can get but they could still contain salmonella as I’ve never had my girls tested.  It’s a risk I accept and am not too worried about.

21 thoughts on “Baking Chez Moi: Marquise au Chocolat

  1. Oh, why oh why did I not think to use these little heart pans??? I have them, I could easily have done something as cute as yours…I made a note in my book for next time. I also like the idea of that graham cracker crust you put on yours. Nice touch. Berries make everything look exciting…just really pretty.

  2. I love the idea of the heart tins… It would be prettier and a more elegant way of storing individual portions for later.

  3. I loved your heart shaped pans, I will have to remember that for the future. Thanks for the info on the raw eggs. I agree with you and Dorie should know that organic has no bearing on salmonella. I hope you feel better.

  4. Love the heart-shaped pan! Like you, I don’t worry about using raw eggs. I don’t want to miss out on the pleasures of chocolate mousse and homemade mayonnaise.

Leave a Reply

