Cookies, Death and Babies: A Valentine’s Day Post

Valentine Cookies TitleAnother year, another Valentine’s Day.  Has any holiday every been so divisive?  Personally I think it’s pretty great. Even in the pre-Scott days I thought it was fun to celebrate who we love.

I took on another Dorie recipe for the weekend as she’s writing a column for the Washington Post now.  I’m hoping I can keep up with this as well as Baking Chez Moi but we’ll see how that turns out.

The recipe that she shared was for some lovely crispy chocolate heart cookies.  I really enjoyed these and making them was a breeze.  I think the best part was getting to decorate them.Drying Valentine CookiesWhile the suggestion was to make large cookies I found I much preferred the smaller versions.  Perfect for nibbling or devouring in ‘Scott’ bites with a cup of tea.  It made for a very relaxing Valentine’s weekend.Finished VDay Cookies

My sister and I were having a conversation the other day about female characters in trilogies.  We found we were both often disappointed that the journeys were so vibrant but the conclusions so limited.  Your choices if you are said female: death or babies.

Death is inevitable for us all and according to a Gallup poll a whopping 90% either want or already have children.  Having this as a conclusion to your heroine’s adventure is nearly akin to saying that she continued to breathe or not breathe as the case may be. It’s as if you die or have kids but either way your life is over.

We need to provide other options for our heroines beyond mother or martyr. I’m not a mother myself but I think my own and many that I know would tell you that motherhood is an adventure in itself and not a neat bow to tie on a pretty package.

There is so much more to say on this.  For now I’m going to leave my musings for another day.

-Christie

5 thoughts on “Cookies, Death and Babies: A Valentine’s Day Post

  1. One trilogy that busts that norm is Tamora Pierce’s Beka Cooper series. Terrier, Bloodhound & Mastiff. No babies, and while there are many close calls, no death. What she really wants is to be good at her job, and she is. Beka Cooper rocks! So does Tamora Pierce (just sayin’).

    The cookies look great too. Perhaps I’ll bake a batch while I reread the series.

  2. These look delicious, especially the frosting! Yum, yum, yum!

    Yeah, there’s a lot more that could be added to female characters’ lives. It’s hard to end a book or series well.

  3. Interesting musings on the Gallup poll. I used to think that about Disney cartoon movies, they always kill off the mother! I will have to try Dorie’s cookies. See you Tuesday.

Leave a Reply

