Baking Chez Moi: Limoncello Cupcakes

Header Limoncello Cupcakes

We have an abundance of citrus that grows here and we’re constantly coming up with ways to use it up.  Fresh orange juice, citrus sangria, vanilla marmalade, lemon ice cream, bars, cookies and one of Scott’s favorites: limoncello.  He’s been making various versions of this with all our varieties of citrus and I can’t wait until the batch he made with our tangerines this year is ready.  It was quite a thrill to see that the latest Baking Chez Moi recipe would allow us to use some of this lovely liquor.  I was worried that this recipe would be fussy or overly complex but instead I found this to be one of the simplest recipes I’ve made so far.

Limoncello Cupcakes Ingredients

While my lemons are now out of season my bosses lemon tree is still producing juicy and bright lemons.  I lucked out that he happened to bring me a few right before I was set to make these. I pulled one of our completed bottles of grapefruit limoncello from the freezer since our lemon batch isn’t quite complete yet.

Limoncello Cupcake Sugar

As with most of Dorie’s recipes the zest gets rubbed into sugar. I love the wet sand texture I get to feel and the wonderful lemony aroma.

Limoncello Cupcake YogurtAdding Limoncello to Cupcake Batter

Yogurt, eggs and limoncello all get whisked into the batter followed by the flour and oil. The batter comes together easily and quickly.

Cupcake Papers for Limoncello Cupcakes

Filled tins limoncello cupcakes

While the cupcakes bake a simple mixture of sugar, water gets microwaved and a little limoncello gets added once it has cooled somewhat.  Once the cupcakes are out the syrup gets brushed in and things are left to cool.

Brushing Syrup limoncello cupcakes

The frosting is a simple buttercream with a bit of limoncello for extra taste.  I went to the trouble of using a star tip decorator for my icing and I think it was worth the extra hassle.  Just a little swirl turns the ordinary into something a little special without all that much real effort.

Frosting Limoncello Cupcakes

I loved the hint of cardamom spice in these and I think the amount of frosting was perfect.  I enjoyed these quite a bit more than originally anticipated.  They are lemony and light but also satisfying.  Pretty much a perfect spring cupcake.

Perfect Spring Cupcakes

Limoncello Cupcake Close Up

Topside Limoncello Cupcakes

-Christie

18 thoughts on “Baking Chez Moi: Limoncello Cupcakes

  1. Beautiful cupcakes! You are giving a whole new meaning to the word homemade encompassing homegrown as well. I bet those cupcakes tasted out of this world.

  2. Your frosting swirls are beautiful! I need to practice. Maybe I’ll have to make the cupcakes again! Love the idea of lemon ice cream. In fact I think I’ll make some today. Thanks for the idea.

Leave a Reply

