Baking Chez Moi: Rhubarb Upside Down Brown Sugar Cake

Title Rhubarb Slice

Rhubarb pie is one of my husband Scott’s favorite desserts.  It was one of his grandmother’s specialties and as many as I have made and as much as he’s enjoyed them I don’t think they can ever quite compare.  I’ve experimented with a few other rhubarb recipes but before now have never found anything that could compete.

Rhubarb Ingredients

I was very much in luck for this recipe since my local farmer’s market had rhubarb. My grocery stores carry rhubarb but it is almost always in bad shape. Luck was with me and I hit the season just right for this recipe.

Peeling RhubarbChopping Rhubarb

As much as I’ve tinkered with rhubarb I’ve never peeled it before.  I was pretty nervous but it wound up being incredibly easy and I think I’m going to use this trick going forward.

Sugared Rhubarb

Cooking Rhubarb

The recipe suggests saving the sugar that results from sugaring the rhubarb and I did just that.  It was pretty nice with a little champagne.  I wish I had thought ahead to try a few mixed drinks-maybe next time.

Cooked Rhubarb in Pan

Once the rhubarb is soft it goes into the top of the pan.  I was definitely on the verge of having my rhubarb go to mush but saved it in time and it held together great in the pan.

Orange Zest in Batter

The recipe suggested the zest of an orange as an optional ingredient.  I went for it and loved the resulting flavor in the cake but it was so distinctive i couldn’t help but wonder what it would have been like without it.  Almost like a different cake entirely I imagine.

Batter on Rhubarb

Once the batter is mixed up is goes on top of the cooked rhubarb and into the oven.

Cake from the Oven

Now for the scary part: flipping the cake onto the platter.  I was so lucky that it came right out for the most part and I only had a few tiny pieces of rhubarb to put back on top.

Flipped Rhubarb

Steaming Rhubarb Cake

The cake smelled amazing with lovely rhubarb steam coming off but it definitely needed a touch of jelly.  I couldn’t find any that were suggested but I figured strawberry was a classic accompanying taste and would give it some lovely red color.

Adding Jelly

Final Cake with Jelly

The final product wasn’t so impressive on it’s own but once some whipped cream and strawberries were added it had the extra oomph it needed.

Finished Cake

Up Close Finished Rhubarb

Final Pic Rhubarb

The resulting cake was very interesting.  Somewhat of a sweet and sour play that felt just right with our warm weather.  As much as I enjoyed this cake I will save making it again until I can find fresh rhubarb again at my market.  The rhubarb is such a star in this I feel like it begs for the best quality.

-Christie

14 thoughts on “Baking Chez Moi: Rhubarb Upside Down Brown Sugar Cake

  1. Looks so delicious. We do not have andy rhubarb until July and then the imported strawberries are out of season. You are so luck that it all comes together at the same time. I would love a slice of your cake.

  2. Your cake is lovely with the strawberry glaze. I’ll have to try it next time with the orange rind; It sounds like it went very well with the rhubarb.

  3. Beautiful photos! I really enjoyed this one, too. It’s hard when someone has a memory of a favourite dessert (or kind of dessert). How can you replicate memory? 🙂

Leave a Reply

