Baking Chez Moi: Strawberry Shortcakes Franco-American Style

The baking gene must skip generations. I don’t mean the skill in baking but the enjoyment of it. Strawberry shortcake was one of my favorite desserts growing up and one of the few things my mom didn’t seem to mind baking.

Shortcake Ingredients

While I wasn’t excited to turn my oven on in our hot weather I did like the simple ingredients called for in this recipe.

Drawing CirclesSifted Flour

A simple ladyfinger batter gets made and piped into circles.

Piping Circles

These bake up into flat little cakey discs.

Baked Discs

After that it’s really just assembling the other ingredients.  I decided to use some of the suggested roasted strawberries as well as some fresh ones.

Roasted Strawberries

I’m always disappointed with the strawberries I can get in AZ.  The area of San Diego where I grew up is known for its strawberries.  They are giant and super sweet with a deep dark red color and a very specific texture. Almost a different thing completely from what I get at my local supermarket.

DSC_0447

I don’t mind making ladyfinger batter or piping discs but for all the effort the entire time I was eating this I was wishing it was my mom’s still-warm from the oven shortcake.  Luckily I get to visit her soon and I’m hoping I can convince her to make me some strawberry shortcake with giant SoCal strawberries.

-Christie

16 thoughts on “Baking Chez Moi: Strawberry Shortcakes Franco-American Style

  1. I’m more used to the biscuit-style shortcake myself, but didn’t mind this type either. I agree that the berries make or break it, though. Hope you get you’re mom’s version with the good berries soon!

  2. Yeah, the strawberry shortcake she made was pretty awesome! And then strawberries and cream for breakfast sometimes, yum. These look amazing and yummy too – you’ve got skills!!!

  3. I roasted some of the strawberries for us to try and some of us liked them but we all agreed you just can’t beat a So Cal strawberry just plain or with a little sugar. I see you agree 🙂 Great job on yours…they look beautiful. BTW…my son goes to USD so we are familiar with your hometown 🙂

  4. I always think baking is worth it in hot weather because the end result justifies it. Your shortcakes look lovely. Mom’s cooking is always the best!

  5. Food and memories are so important. Enjoy your visit. I live in SoCal so I better appreciate my strawberries. I think serving roasted and raw strawberries was a great idea.

  6. I only lived in southern California for a year and a half, but one of the things I miss the most is the fresh fruit. The strawberries there really are amazing. I’m glad you’ll get to enjoy your mom’s shortcake soon!

  7. Boy those shortcakes and strawberries look Delicious. I was really intimidated by the piping required in this recipe but I will try again. Seriously envious of the good fruit in California…

Leave a Reply

