Baking Chez Moi: Vanilla-Mango Panna Cotta

Mango Panna Cotta Header

For me this should really be called vanilla-papaya panna cotta.  When I went to the market the mangos just didn’t seem quite sweet and ripe enough but they had some wonderful smelling Hawaiian papaya.  I’m sure that a lot of tropical fruit would be pretty amazing in this.

Mango Panacotta ingredients

I love a good simple yet surprising recipe and this is definitely one of those.  Panna cotta is one of my absolute favorite desserts and I have a little collection of different variations.  They are great for guest dinners because you can make them ahead and they always seem to turn out pretty great.

Pureed Papaya

The part that makes this panna cotta special is the fruit puree.  I wanted mine to have the bite of the lime but also be enjoyably sweet so I added a good spoonful of honey to mine along with a lot of lime juice.  I didn’t bother with straining to get a super fine texture, I just blended it as well as I could. The puree gets popped into the freezer to set in the glasses.

Milk Cream Steep

Next milk, cream and sugar get brought to a boil and then steeped with a vanilla bean and all of its aromatic pulp.

Blooming Gelatin

Gelatin is the key to the wonderful texture of the finished panna cotta.  Once it blooms the cream mixture gets brought back to a boil and mixed with the gelatin.

Pouring Panna Cotta

Close Up Pouring Panna Cotta

Once it’s cool enough the cream mixture is poured over the fruit and it’s simply refrigerate and enjoy.

Final Mango Panna Cotta

Mango Panna Cotta Texture

Up Close Panna Cotta Texture

For me this is a perfect Arizona summer dessert.  Cold and lightly sweet with tropical flavors.  It doesn’t require the use of my oven and can be made easily.  The papaya was perfect with the cold vanilla cream flavor and the lime and honey added depth.  I really enjoyed this dessert and will probably add it to my favorite panna cotta recipes.

-Christie

9 thoughts on “Baking Chez Moi: Vanilla-Mango Panna Cotta

  1. I love the little glasses you used! So pretty. This is a great dessert and I’m always trying to forget how easy panna cotta is to make – it’s dangerously good…

  2. Wow – how have I not known about panna cotta before ??? Love that you use this for company because of it’s “make ahead” timing. I was already thinking this myself but like having it confirmed 🙂 And so fun to see that papaya. Great substitution.

Leave a Reply

