Baking Chez Moi: Stained Glass Cookies and Chocolate-Chestnut Tart

Finally getting back on the baking track and I somehow managed to pull off both my December recipes at once.

DSC_0462

DSC_0565

Stained Glass Cookies

The idea of crushing candies to create a stained glass window effect was interesting.  Excepting the candy I had everything on hand.  A dear friend had made me some rose sugar and I thought this would be perfect for sprinkling on top.

DSC_0338.jpg

The dough for this was a breeze.  A basic sugar dough that came together nicely and was fairly easy to work with.  Up until the cutting portion.  I found this a little finicky although I started figuring out the feel of this dough by the end.DSC_0359.jpgDSC_0362.jpgDSC_0361.jpgDSC_0373.jpg

Crushing the candies and filling up the cookie was pretty fun although a little nerve wracking on the first batch.  My whole kitchen smelled like fruity candy which was a little strange.  My favorite candy was a mango organic sucker I picked up in the checkout lane at the grocery store.

DSC_0348.jpgDSC_0380.jpgDSC_0413.jpgDSC_0401.jpg

DSC_0378.jpg

DSC_0390.jpg

I loved the look of the herbs and rose sugar topping.  If I make these again I will definitely experiment with more types of herbs. I also used my cut out pieces to make little sugar cookie nibbles.DSC_0429.jpgDSC_0398.jpg

DSC_0402.jpg

The stained glass cookies were beautiful looking and way less hassle than I was expecting.  I would really like to re-try these for Valentine’s Day with more herbs and seeds and with violet candies.  These would be a perfect fit with the rose sugar. The fruit candy flavors I had available didn’t fit with my idea of the holiday and while the cookies were interesting they weren’t my ideal flavor palette.

DSC_0420.jpgDSC_0421.jpgDSC_0460.jpgDSC_0458.jpgDSC_0466.jpg

Chocolate-Chestnut Tart with Chestnut Vanilla Syrup

I had never tried a chestnut prior to this recipe.  My first bite of one was quite the surprise of texture and I ended up spitting it out. I forged ahead with this and I’m glad that I did because the sum of its parts was certainly better than the piece of chestnut that I tried.

DSC_0476.jpg

The tart was fairly simple: tart shell, candied chestnuts and chocolate ganache all baked up.  I had made the tart shell a few other times for recipes in this book and at this point I’ve got it down.

The candied chestnuts were pretty straight forward and simple.  My stovetop did most of the work once the vanilla bean syrup was going.  I found I liked the chestnut taste in this quite a bit.  For those of you who haven’t tried them a roasted chestnut has the texture of a baked potato. I was expecting somewhat crunchy nut and got something completely different.

DSC_0501 (1).jpgDSC_0500.jpg

I was nearly ready to scrap the recipe at this point but I decided to forge ahead and figured the chestnuts could be eaten around if needed.  An easy ganache is made and poured over everything and baked till firm.

DSC_0509.jpgDSC_0521.jpg

Luckily the finished product is actually quite good.  I haven’t met a lot of chocolate I didn’t like and the chestnuts flavor was great and the texture was less noticeable next to the silky chocolate. I didn’t have the time or meal planning to serve this with ice cream and chestnut syrup as intended.  I do have the syrup saved for some ice cream later this week.

DSC_0541.jpgDSC_0563.jpg

Happy Holidays

-Christie

7 thoughts on “Baking Chez Moi: Stained Glass Cookies and Chocolate-Chestnut Tart

  1. Your cookies are cute and your tart looks devine. I didn’t use the herbs on the cookies as I didn’t think my tasters would understand, but I am glad you enjoyed the herbs.

  2. Both of your desserts are lovely. Your cookies turned out a heck of a lot better than
    mine did, but they tasted good. Have a great holiday.

  3. Oh my did you deliver on these two recipes – gold stars all around !! 🙂 I still have to knock out those cookies and am frankly intimidated but loving your process photos. What a huge help. And brilliant idea about the Valentine’s Day do over for these- genius big time !! Awesome job and thanks for the inspiration to circle back on those cookies 🙂 Happy Holidays !!

  4. Both recipes turned out beautifully for you. The flavour profile of some of the cookies was a little odd – we liked the cherry lifesavers but the lemon-lime, not so much. Rose sugar with violet candies sounds perfect. Have a happy new year.

Leave a Reply

