Baking Chez Moi: Fluted Carrot-Tangerine Cake

DSC_0905.jpgI couldn’t be more thrilled that the Baking Chez Moi recipes are citrus themed this month.  I’m always looking for ways to use up my delicious bounty of tangerines, tangelos, lemons and grapefruit.

DSC_0854.jpgDSC_0855.jpgDSC_0859.jpg

The ingredients for this cake were pretty simple.  I didn’t have the right size quiche pan so I went a little off script and used a fluted oval baker.  It changed the baking times a little bit but it looked pretty and didn’t burn.

DSC_0870DSC_0876.jpgDSC_0883.jpgDSC_0888.jpg

Everything about this cake was bright and light.  Such a cheerful cake, like baking with sunshine.

DSC_0891.jpgDSC_0894.jpgDSC_0903.jpg

I was surprised how much I like this cake.  It was bright and sweet and a nice little treat.  Our tangerines were quite sweet this year so I don’t think I would make a glaze again unless they were a little more tart.

DSC_0907.jpgDSC_0909.jpg

This was a great cake to start off the baking year.  I can’t wait to see what else this year brings to my kitchen.

-Christie

11 thoughts on “Baking Chez Moi: Fluted Carrot-Tangerine Cake

  1. Baking with sunshine and light and bright just about sums it up. How fun that you were able to use home grown fruit. That’s pretty rare to be able to do that. I bet your cake tasted even better for that.

  2. You and Steph both mentioned sunshine when baking this cake. I am looking forward to making this one. I have been baking a lot with citrus also. One of my friends gave me a bag of limes from her backyard.

  3. Nice job! Do you have citrus trees? If so I am madly jealous. We just moved to Florida and plan to plant citrus trees once we buy a house!

Leave a Reply

