Baking Chez Moi:Cocoa Crunch Meringue Sandwiches

DSC_0422.jpgSometimes recipes bring about confessions that would otherwise remain unsaid.  Mine is that I don’t particularly care for macaroons.  So while not particularly excited for this recipe I was very excited about the simple ingredients, all of which I already had in my house.DSC_0371.jpgThe batter for the merge cookie portion turned out to be quite a bit easier to make than I had anticipated.  A few ingredients sifted together and folded into some meringue.DSC_0373.jpgDSC_0383.jpgDSC_0388.jpgEven the piping wasn’t as bad as I had thought.  I was very grateful that this recipe had a picture as otherwise I would have been obsessing about how imperfect the cookies were.DSC_0393.jpgThe ganache turned out to be simple as well.  I actually made it in the microwave and used the refrigerator to cool it down.  DSC_0398.jpgDSC_0403.jpgAfter piping ganache onto the cooled cookies I decided to take a taste of the leftover chocolate.  It was so delicious it seriously diminished my guilt over just eating straight frosting.DSC_0415.jpgDSC_0414.jpgDSC_0417.jpgDSC_0421.jpgWhen the ganache sandwiched in the cookies firmed up I wanted to try one to give my honest review so decided to split one with Scott.  To my surprise I really liked it.  The crunch and subtle almond flavor went really well with the rich and creamy ganache.  We decided they were the sandwich cookie that you wish you got in packages from the store.  One of the great things about baking through this book is the surprises I get about my own palate.

-Christie

 

 

2 thoughts on “Baking Chez Moi:Cocoa Crunch Meringue Sandwiches

  1. Kudos to you for making something that you don’t like. I have never made meringue cookies before and you made it sound so simple. I am looking forward to making these next.

Leave a Reply

