Baking Chez Moi: Betty’s Chocoholic Cake and Tarte Tropezienne

DSC_0619.jpg

Life has been busier than usual and I’ve found myself dog piling both my monthly recipes into one post.  I caved in and bought a Kitchen Aid mixer and I’m finding there is a bit of a learning curve.

Betty’s Chocoholic Cake

This recipe called for a ridiculous amount of butter and made for a very rich cake.DSC_0578.jpgThe batter was a fairly simple mix of mostly butter, egg and chocolate.DSC_0582.jpgDSC_0593.jpgI’m definitely learning how powerful a stand mixer is the hard way.  My layers baked up quite bubbly.  Luckily after assembly with the chocolate ganache it wasn’t all that noticeable.  White chocolate curls seem to cover a multitude of bubbly sins.DSC_0606.jpgI was worried this would be too rich and I would prefer my slice with a little dollop of sour cream.  However, the taste testers seemed to have no problem making their way through and it got pretty rave reviews.  I would definitely save this for a special occasion.DSC_0621.jpg

Tarte Tropezienne

Everything about this cake was simple yet luxurious.  I think it’s worth keeping the cupboards stocked with orange-flower water and pearl sugar so this can be made through the summer.DSC_0566I love tend to love yeast-risen baked goods and this cake was no exception.  The batter was quite thick and it would have been quite the challenge to make without a stand mixer.DSC_0574.jpgThis cake was perfect to make on a warm Arizona day.  My house is the perfect temperature to rise dough and when it is time to make the cake it doesn’t take all that long in the oven.DSC_0595 (1).jpgDSC_0628.jpgDSC_0641.jpgMy baked cake turned out beautiful and I even cut it easily.  Things went a little awry after filling when I put the cake top turned to the wrong side.  Trying to correct it only made things goofier.  Luckily the great taste and texture overcame the wonky visual result.DSC_0645.jpgWe loved this cake.  The crunchy pearl sugar and flavored cream were perfect with the brioche dough.  I feel like I will be making it several times this summer.DSC_0650.jpg

-Christie

 

 

6 thoughts on “Baking Chez Moi: Betty’s Chocoholic Cake and Tarte Tropezienne

  1. Both look delicious!!! The tart is so tempting looking!!! I even have orange flower water (though not the pearl sugar).

    My first dessert choice is usually not serious chocolate, but the cake looks delicious!!!

    Hope you have fun with the new mixer. I’ve had mine forever and love it.

  2. The chocolate cake had ridiculous amounts of everything. I told my husband not to ask what was in it. We liked the brioche cake too but it is a fair amount of work.

Leave a Reply

