Baking Chez Moi: Cornmeal and Berry Cakes

DSC_0926.jpgSometimes the season dictates the mood.  Such is the case with these cornmeal and berry cakes. A few simple ingredients, a little sugar and some tart berries and lemon make a nice little summer cake.  I didn’t have the exact size of mini loaf pan specified so went with the alternative cupcake size that worked perfectly with some neat papers I had.DSC_0887.jpgMostly this recipe calls for things I already have in my kitchen although maybe not in this particular combination.  I used the typical cornmeal that I would use for corn bread but it added a little extra touch of grit since it wasn’t soaked like my typical recipe.  It worked out ok though since I enjoy the bit of crunch.  DSC_0889.jpgThe sugar is rubbed with the lemon and without the wonderful brightness of the lemon I doubt I would have enjoyed these so much.DSC_0894I wasn’t so sure about the raspberries but ended up enjoying their tartness with this recipe.  I’m very tempted to try these with strawberries or blueberries too.DSC_0895.jpgMy chickens aren’t in the laying mood with our hot, hot heat here in Phoenix at the moment but I still had a few from cooler weather.DSC_0907.jpgI’m still getting used to the stand mixer Scott and a few friends convinced me to buy.  I’m pretty happy overall and it worked out pretty great for this recipe.  This cake calls for a fruity olive oil and while the one on hand wasn’t the fruitiest it is locally produced and pretty tasty.  DSC_0908.jpgI have a bad habit of collecting cupcake papers and was so glad to have re-discovered these in my cupboard.  Sunny and summery they are too cute.DSC_0915.jpgStruggled a little but to fill these just right.  In the end it didn’t matter as the berries sunk to the bottom and every turned out all right.  The tall papers also add some extra forgiveness.DSC_0919.jpgI added the optional lemon glaze on half the cakes after taste testing a plain one.  I liked them plain but the little extra lemon and sweetness made them just about perfect.DSC_0924.jpgThese little cakes definitely have a unique texture.  I’m sure you could increase/decrease the grittiness based on the grind of cornmeal or add some soaking time.  I ended up liking the little bit of crunch with berry softness and yummy lemon.  Pretty easy and quick for a nice little summer bake.

-Christie

4 thoughts on “Baking Chez Moi: Cornmeal and Berry Cakes

  1. I love the cupcake papers… they seem so perfectly suited for your little cakes! I used Bob’s also and liked the extra grittiness too.

Leave a Reply

