Baking Chez Moi: Philadelphia Blueberry-Corn Tart

When I first cracked open Baking Chez Moi I came across this recipe and was absolutely horrified. I couldn’t imagine making a dessert topped with raw corn.  One of the best things about Tuesdays with Dorie is that it often challenges my concept of what can and should be baked.DSC_0077.jpgLots of summer ingredients for this: rosemary from the garden, honey from my local stockpile and fresh corn. Overall it wasn’t hugely complex but seemed completely strange.DSC_0089.jpgDSC_0093.jpgThe blueberry topping is super fragrant and so different with the rosemary added to it. I loved that the blueberries were cooked to bursting-it changes their texture in such a lovely way and really helped all the scents and flavors of the additional ingredients infuse.DSC_0097.jpgThen the corn gets added.  I was grimacing as I added the fresh corn to the blueberry mixture.  My senses were saying no but my recipe was saying yes.DSC_0100.jpgDSC_0110.jpgThe filling was no-bake which was great and perfect for summer.  Having pre-made the crust it meant no additional oven time.  Simple and tangy I was dreading having to top it with corn.DSC_0117.jpgDSC_0118.jpgDSC_0124.jpgDSC_0125.jpgAdding the topping really did make the tart look beautiful.  The bright and pale yellow with the deep purple blue on the white creamy topping is quite eye-catching.DSC_0138.jpgDSC_0143.jpgDSC_0164.jpgThen it came time to take a bite.  I grit my teeth and tried a bite…and it wasn’t terrible.  The more I tasted the less scared and horrified I felt.  It was actually pretty good and the rosemary made it very interesting. Declaring it pretty all right I sent it to work with Scott.  To my surprise it got rave reviews with one co-worker telling me it was the best thing they’ve tasted out of all the goods sent. Turns out that corn and blueberries is pretty genius.  I should have known that Dorie wouldn’t steer us wrong.

-Christie

 

7 thoughts on “Baking Chez Moi: Philadelphia Blueberry-Corn Tart

  1. I remember seeing this recipe in the book and thought it sounded odd. Love all the parts, but together? Yours looks delicious and happy that Scott’s friends liked (loved!) it!

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  2. That’s great that everyone loved it. I liked it, but for some reason at work, this one didn’t go off – there are still 5 pieces left the next day.

  3. Yours looks amazing! Personally I hate corn, but glad that you took the leap when you didn’t think you would like it. I have sometimes looked sideways when considering combinations in recipes only to be absolutely delighted.

Leave a Reply

