Baking Chez Moi: Lemon (Grapefruit) Meringue Tart A New Way

My trees are all out of lemons right now so I thought what the heck I’ll make this with white grapefruit which I still have plenty of.DSC_0790.jpgMost of my grapefruit are giant now, on the sweet side and extremely juicy.DSC_0791.jpgThe pastry cream was pretty typical except it was citrus flavored.  This was my favorite part of the tart as the cream had such a delicate floral and citrus flavor.DSC_0795.jpgDSC_0799.jpgI kept the extra egg white for the meringue.  I know the preference in our household is for a lot.DSC_0801.jpgthumbnail_FullSizeRender.jpgMy meringue was pretty browned but it tasty yummy and not burnt.  I liked the overall idea of this tart but after tasting it both myself and Scott thought  that we would have preferred a regular tart base rather than the cream.  The grapefruit flavor was great and I think I’ll be experimenting with making a traditional-style grapefruit meringue.  The grapefruit pastry cream was incredibly tasty, just didn’t care for it so much in the tart.  I think it would be pretty sensational in an éclair or maybe as a base for a tropical cream pie with hibiscus flowers.  It’s made me want to experiment with a grapefruit cheesecake, maybe with a sour cream topping?  While this tart wasn’t my favorite combo it did spark some good ideas so I’m glad to have made it.

-Christie

2 thoughts on “Baking Chez Moi: Lemon (Grapefruit) Meringue Tart A New Way

Leave a Reply

