Baking Chez Moi: Laurent’s Slow-Roasted Pineapple

So I’ve actually made this slow-roasted pineapple a few times since I first bought Baking Chez Moi.  Fortunately I remembered to have Scott take pictures during the winter months I was making this as it’s already pretty hot here in Phoenix. The thought of having my oven on for a few hours is pretty unpleasant.DSC_0071.jpgPretty simple ingredients and oranges are in season here in the winter so I didn’t have to purchase anything except the preserves and pineapple.  Pineapples are always pretty cheap here in colder months.DSC_0073.jpgI ended up with pretty groovy pineapple slices since the eyes were pretty deep and I didn’t want to cut off too much of the good stuff. DSC_0079.jpgDSC_0088.jpgDSC_0116.jpgDSC_0119.jpgYou can see the pineapple start to soften and change colors as it roasts.  The house has smelled absolutely heavenly every time I’ve made this.  Love all the spicy, sweet smells wafting around.DSC_0145.jpgDSC_0143.jpgDSC_0138.jpgServed with some vanilla bean ice cream the pineapple is fantastic.  I really enjoy this recipe both for it’s simplicity of ingredients yet complexity of flavor.  I tend to have bulk spices around, especially around the holidays and it’s fun to try different ones.  The only things that is really a pain is processing the pineapple.

-Christie

3 thoughts on “Baking Chez Moi: Laurent’s Slow-Roasted Pineapple

  1. Christie, that looks delicious!!! What a great way to use the extra pineapple I tend to buy when they are 88 cents! Wow, that sounds wonderful! Hope you and Scott are doing great!

Leave a Reply

